By-polls to Fakhrul’s constituency June 24

Spread the love

By-election to Bogura-6 parliamentary constituency will be held on June 24, the Election Commission said today.

SM Asaduzzaman, EC joint secretary and director (public relations), confirmed it to The Daily Star.

Bogura-6 constituency was announced vacant as BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir did not take oath as a member of the house from the seat within the stipulated time.

The commission fixed the fresh date for holding the polls following a meeting today, the EC official said.


–Last date for submission of nomination is May 23

–Scrutinization on May 27

–Last date for nomination withdrawal is June 3

EC Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed informed reporters about the schedule at his EC office.


Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury on April 30 declared the seat vacant.

“Since Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, who was elected from the parliamentary constituency-41, Bogura-6, in the 11th parliamentary election, failed to take oath within the 90 days from the date of the first meeting of Parliament after his election as per the Article 67 (Ka) of the Constitution, his constituency has fallen vacant,” the speaker said on that day.

The 11th parliament formed through the December-30 general election went into its maiden session on January 30, 2019. As per the constitution, April 29 was the last date for taking oath.

Ending weeks of speculations, four BNP lawmakers took oath in line with the party decision on the last date for taking oath, although Fakhrul did not do so.


Credit: Source link

Spread the love

Author: ApnayOnline is an oline news portal which aims to provide latest trendy news around the Asia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *